Archengeia's D&D Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Behind The Screen Of Archengeia As A GM

5 posters

Go down

Behind The Screen Of Archengeia As A GM Empty Behind The Screen Of Archengeia As A GM

Post by Archengeia Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:43 am

So.  The allegory between Airships and nuclear weapons is probably obvious on the most fundamental levels, but the implications and long term ramifications are what I always admittedly focused on.  Airships detonating like that is just a shock moment (and somewhat unlikely to happen again anytime soon), but the 'nuclear' threat remains, and that's the problem.  Given the Directorate's assault and the situation, I had a feeling we'd be hitting a heavy episode is what I'm saying.  (note: I had no idea what did occur would occur, that was all a result of party interaction, but still).

So how do you deal with this?  Me, as a writer, I've always felt that in the shock of a moment people can't truly understand a thing.  It takes time for it to settle, for their brain to process.  So you hit someone with something big, something heavy, and then you change the tone, the pitch of the story so they can comprehend it a bit better and really come to grips with it.  And being me, I like to plan ahead for just such an occasion.  So I'm going to mention two things I've had percolating in my mind for some time.